Echoes from the Vault

Whilst studying History at Aberdeen University, I developed a fascination for a specific part of the library; that being Special Collections. Now studying Information & Library Studies at Robert Gordon University my fascination with special collections has been rejuvenated. On patrolling various special collections websites, I found the remit of University of St Andrew Library Department of Special Collections most interesting “to preserve and develop the collections in our care to make the collections accessible to both academic and public audiences.” This inspired me to seek my placement at St Andrews.

After conciliation with my course supervisor it was off to The University of St Andrews. However, as I approached the Special Collections department it was clear that they were indeed in temporary accommodation and the building did not add to my excitement -especially after visiting the newly refurbished main library which is visually impressive- however, the excitement…

View original post 796 more words

Leave a Reply

